Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

simple,complete & accurate instructions for skype sound in & bluetooth headset

I am new to Linux.

I installed kubuntu 8.10 on my Windows Vista Gateway laptop by using the webbased dual boot tool that installs Kubuntu as a file under windows.

In Vista every thing works as it should.

I need to use skype - but I can't get the microphone to work - the Gateway has a built in Intel sound card and uses snd-hda-intel driver.
    I also tried to use a bluetooth headset instead of a plugin headset. I couldn't get bluetooth to work either.

I have tried very hard for the last 5 days using google and forums but nothing works. The advice on the forums all refers to older versions of ubuntu/kubuntu.

I did have some slight success, at first there was no sound at all, I did get the sound out to work but not sound in.

Can anyone give me clear simple, accurate and complete instructions about:
    1. getting sound in (headset microphone) working with skype
    2. bluetooth headset working with skype

Re: simple,complete & accurate instructions for skype sound in & bluetooth headset

At least you figured out how to add Skype! I couldn't find it in Adept. Are you using Wine?

Comment

Re: simple,complete & accurate instructions for skype sound in & bluetooth headset

Originally posted by evans62
      At least you figured out how to add Skype! I couldn't find it in Adept. Are you using Wine?
      Skype can be installed from medibuntu source. See http://www.medibuntu.org/ where you can also find instructions for installing their packages.

I can also confirm that I have the same problem with the microphone since I have upgraded to Intrepid Ibex. In previous releases it worked correctly. I will let you know if I find a solution.