This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

KDE driving me nuts

Okay, I'm not a newbie but feel like one after a fresh install of 8.10 and the new beta KDE 4.2.

These widgets are driving me nut and the panel is all screwed up now after I tried to modify it.

The icons in the bottom panel on the right are now all on the left and you cannot move them back to the right.
    The windows in the panel when you minimize an application are gone, I found that to get them back I added the widget "task manager". Now when I minimize firefox it doesn't just vanish, there is a tab in the panel.

When you go to add a widget it is sooo confusing. There are 'yellow stars' then there are 'red minus' signs, sometimes if you put your mouse over the yellow star a minus sign appears or a plus sign appears. Sometimes the yellow star is active and there is a red minus sign as well. Then all the sudden I have added 3 or 4 of the same widgets. It would be so much easier if you could just do this:
    1) Unlock icons
    2) Drag them around
    3) Relock them

Any suggestions are welcome. Thanks. I would like to get my panel back to the original configuration.

Regards,

LTP

Re: KDE driving me nuts

Mmmm .... I am not sure this is the best time to switch to KDE 4.2. But both in KDE 4.1 and 4.2, you need to first right-click on the panel, and do "Panel Settings", then you can drag the plasmoids from one side to the other in the panel. You can also add more Plasmoids, etc.

I think, ok, this is my take. There is a bit of getting used to something new, and a bit of KDE 4 still lacking polish and features. I think 4.2 will be great for what I played with the neon builds.

Comment