X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

boot Kubuntu 8.10 from external hard drive on PCI USB 2.0 card

Hi
    I have an external hard drive, and I've been trying for 2 weeks now to install linux on it and boot.
    The computers' USB ports don't work well, not stable, so I bought a new PCI USB card hoping this would fix the problem. It now installs, but doesn't boot (DISK BOOT FAILUARE).

The bios has the option to boot from USB-HDD and I selected it.

what I do: remove internal drive, boot from live cd, click the install icon, plug in the external hard drive (formated it with gpartit : swap, ext3, fat32) forward... click swap->use as swap, ext3->/, fat32->/windows) forward, advanced -> install boot loader (it has only one option:hd0, thow the disk is seen as sda), click ok, install, restart, nothing happens.

It would also be ok if I could boot the hdd with a bootable cd, but I'm new to linux, so I would need some detailed instructions on how to do that, I tried it before, folowing a tutorial, at the cost of wasting some cd-s with no success.

Thank you

Re: boot Kubuntu 8.10 from external hard drive on PCI USB 2.0 card

well, two things come to mind

1 For some external HDDs (those that don't have eSATA or where the motherboard does not support eSATA), to make the external drive recognized, you have to shut the machine down, connect and turn On the external HDD (to the USB and to the power source and turn On the power switch on the external drive), then turn on the PC and boot up. (i.e., an exterrnal HDD may NOT be perfectly hot-pluggable)

2 When you install Kubuntu to that external HDD from the Live CD, the installer will NOT see the external drive as hd0. The drive hd0 >>> is always the drive that the PC boots from at that PC session: that's how BIOS and GRUB see hd0 <<<.