This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Updating Kubuntu 8.1 (SOLVED)

Hi everyone, I'm new to Linux/ kubuntu in general but I'm fairly computer savvy and I've figured alot of stuff out, one thing I can't figure out is a problem that happens when I try to get all the updates after a fresh Kubuntu 8.1 install with Wubi. It works perfectly after install, but when I restart after getting all the latest updates the thing won't let me log on anymore. It loads up to the log on screen, but i type my stuff in and hit go or enter and nothing happens. When this happened the first time I wasn't too worried, I simply reinstalled the thing and tried updating once more... but it happened again. could not log on after fully updating. Should I do certain updates after others? Before? What is it? Has the problem already been reported? I would love some help with this, I really want to get Kubuntu working right so I can explore the option of making it my permanent OS.

Thanks,
    Justin

Re: Updating Kubuntu 8.1

First things first, Welcome to the Club :-)

Have you tried not installing any update, just rebooting after the install a couple times and see if you can still log in?

The issue you are having seems isolated, people have not been reporting anything like this consistently with Kubuntu 8.10

If you get stuck again, here go two tips:

* [ctrl][alt][bkspc] should kill the windowing system and restart it, offering you the login window.
    * besides KDE, you can login in a fail-safe, have you tried this, so at least we can see if this is a KDE specific error?
    * Software upgrades are really smart in linux, if you got all the updates, everything should be in sync.
    * there is an option for a safe boot when you start Kubuntu (or recovery, can't remember the name), you can try that, there is a menu that offers some alternatives for fixing the system, like fiixing broken packages, etc, you may wanna try that

Best luck!

Comment