X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

SOLVED: Can't See the Desktop

Alright, so absolute beginner, windows refuge, loving Kubuntu

I recently changed my desktop's look and then it went all scary on me, I can get "to" the desktop,

This means that everything is "there" but I can't see it, or I can only see outlines, but I can't reset the settings because I can't see where to go

This all happened when I clicked on two effects from system settings. I changed it so that when the windows are minimized they just disappear instead of animating the minimization, and this desktop snow effect that lets it snow on the desktop, it sounded cool.

I am always confused on these forums so if you could take it slow for me I would appreciate it,

I am running Intrepid Ibex
    Aum

Re: Can't See the Desktop

One way to do it - if you haven't made lots of customisations which you wish to keep - is to stuff the live CD into a drive, boot it, and find the .kde directory then re-name it.
    That's with a dot in front of the kde.

Another way if you have another OS on the HD is to boot into that and do it from there.

A new one with default values will be generated when you re-boot.

Edited for clarity.

Comment

Here is your recipe:

1. log in
      2. press CTRL+ALT+F4
      3. log in
      4. type
      Code:
      mv ~/.kde4/share/config/kwinrc ~/.kde4/share/config/kwinrc~
      Explanation: ~ stands for /home/your_username
      5. press CTRL+ALT+F7
      6. press CTRL+ALT+backspace
      7. login again

HTH
      Once your problem is solved please mark the topic of the first post as SOLVED so others know and can benefit from your experience! / FAQ

Comment

^^ I'll have to remember that one...
        It looks easier.

I thought you were a noob !

Comment

I enter the code and I get bash : not directory etc, so I ,with what little shell knowledge I had, used cd command to get as far in there as possible,