Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Please help!!! Can't boot into windows vista after updating kubuntu(boot screen)

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Please help!!! Can't boot into windows vista after updating kubuntu(boot screen)

Hello.

Sorry for my bad english.

Now my problem is when i updatet kubuntu....the boot option for windows disappeared..i mean when i start my computer..at the begining i can choose which OS i will use. Now there is only Linux.
    I know that i need to edit menu.lst but i dont know how...i am a beginner in linux world.
    Please help...i have some important programs and other stuff in windows vista.

Re: Please help!!! Can't boot into windows vista after updating kubuntu(boot screen)

Right after GRUB loads, there should be a menu, the bottom option of which is Windows Longhorn, which is the Vista loader. At least that's how my system is. I'm assuming that you installed Kubuntu on free space on your hard drive.

Hope this helps! I'm new to this myself...

Comment

Re: Please help!!! Can't boot into windows vista after updating kubuntu(boot screen)

Found this on another distro forum...

Just for information I got it working by restoring the Windows MBR with Super GRUB Disk
      ( http://www.supergrubdisk.org/ ).
      Then it booted directly into windows but still got an error message. So then I tried the windows repair option of the windows install DVD again, and this time it recognized & repaired windows so now windows runs fine.

So you have the first fix, and an idea to work on if further action is needed...

God Bless
      Doug
      Malachi 3:10 ESV <br />...says the LORD of hosts... I will not open...windows...for you...<br /><br />Linux user since 2001 pda; 2006 lappy

Comment

Do you know on which partition your windows is?
        if you add this to the bottom of your menu.lst, it will try to boot windows from the first partition on the first disk:

title Windows