This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Changing the resolution from 800x600.

I am new to Linux and I know I shouldn't be messing around with betas but how else can you learn without trying. My question is one that I've seen quite often but no one seems to give a straight answer. I would like to know how to change my resolution from 800x600 and my refresh rate from 60 to something higher. I know about xorg.conf but I really don't know the code for all of this stuff so I get stuck at this point lol. any step by step answer that will solve my problem would be great!

Re: Changing the resolution from 800x600.

Originally posted by fenderdude78
    I am new to Linux and I know I shouldn't be messing around with betas but how else can you learn without trying.
    Well, some people learn by reading about a topic and then experimenting, however, not everyone learns the same way. Just to be clear, by beta do you mean that you are using 8.10?

My question is one that I've seen quite often but no one seems to give a straight answer. I would like to know how to change my resolution from 800x600 and my refresh rate from 60 to something higher.
    Part of the reason for that is that there is no *one* straight answer that works in every case. A lot of the problems that people have with this is related to driver modules that are needed to support their chipset, and/or mode lines that need to be added to xorg.conf (but one size does not fit all, as the saying goes). I note that you didn't mention anything about your video card or chipset or monitor, that is likely to cause some delay in an answer because now someone who wants to help you will need to ask and wait for you to answer. That might be part of the reason this hasn't been replied to up to now

I know about xorg.conf but I really don't know the code for all of this stuff so I get stuck at this point lol. any step by step answer that will solve my problem would be great!