X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Keyboard Problems

Hey guys I've got a <b>BIG</b> problem.

I'm new to using Linux. I got Kubuntu 8.04 from my networking teacher.

I installed it on my laptop and my wifi wouldn't work. I noticed I had updates to install so I installed them. Now my keyboard isn't working other then the log in screen.

What should I do?

Help in lameons terms would be helpful haha.

~~Steven J. Carney

Re: Keyboard Problems

Welcome.

First, maybe a little more info would be helpful.
    What kind of laptop are you using?
    And what keyboard configuration did you choose uppon install?
    Can you check your keyboard layout in Kmenu >System Settings?

[edit] does the keyboard work with the live cd??
    &quot;Either you repeat the same conventional doctrines everybody is saying, or else you say something true, and it will sound like it&#39;s from Neptune.&quot; ~Noam Chomsky<br /><br />Gigabyte MB, AMD 64x2 6000, 2 Gigs Patriot DDR2, XFX GeForce 8600GT XXX, 400Gig WD SATA HDD &amp; 1TB WD SATA HDD.

Comment

Haha I never thought of that.

Its a Gateway T-1625.

I chose the USA english configuration I think. I can't remember haha.

I also never thought to try the live cd. *POsts this and goes to test it*

[Edit] I couldn't get it to work with the CD either. Btw. Its also the virtual keyboard thats not working too. I'm not being able to type at all on Kubuntu.

Comment

does the keyboard work if you boot into BIOS? or is it not working period?
        &quot;Either you repeat the same conventional doctrines everybody is saying, or else you say something true, and it will sound like it&#39;s from Neptune.&quot; ~Noam Chomsky<br /><br />Gigabyte MB, AMD 64x2 6000, 2 Gigs Patriot DDR2, XFX GeForce 8600GT XXX, 400Gig WD SATA HDD &amp; 1TB WD SATA HDD.

Comment

It'll work up to the point that I get to the desktop. after that its not working

Comment

Your keyboard was originally working before you ran the updates?