This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I've killed it! (Almost)

I've been running Gutsy for about 6 months, over the weekend I stuffed up big time! I've managed to make it extremely ill, almost terminal. Using Adept Installer I installed a firewall application (can't remember which one). Didn't know how to set it up and my access to the ADSL router stopped. I removed the firewall app but still no internet. I then uninstalled several apps that had anything to with networking, still no luck. I uninstalled a few more apps and ended up where I am now. It now boots up to a command prompt log-in. "startx" gets me to the desktop but I can't open my email (Kontact) to recover my addresses. I can see my movie and photo files, but can't access them to copy to CD etc. I have no web access from the gutsy drive so I can't reinstall anything I unistalled. I'm currently running Hardy on a seperate drive, hence my web access. Is there some way of re-installing gutsy without over writing my address books, movies, photos etc? Or can I import them into "Hardy" from a seperate "Gutsy" drive? Any and all help appreciated.

Cheers,

Mick

Re: I've killed it! (Almost)

Using Adept Installer I installed a firewall application (can't remember which one). Didn't know how to set it up and my access to the ADSL router stopped.
    Maybe this helps > Topic: firewall troubles!!!!

About IPTables > Ubuntu community - IPTables HowTo

About reset > Ubuntu forums - Reset iptables
    Q:
    Yea, I kinda messed 'em up and now my Linux box wont connect to the internet.
    A:
    iptables --flush

man iptables tells:
    -F, --flush [chain]
    Flush the selected chain (all the chains in the table if none is given). This is equivalent to deleting all the rules one by one.

Is there some way of re-installing gutsy without over writing my address books, movies, photos etc? Or can I import them into "Hardy" from a seperate "Gutsy" drive? Any and all help appreciated.