This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

KUBUNTU LIVE CD DOES NOT WORK AT REBOOT

HELLO... IM NEW TO KUBUNTU.... AND IT LOOKS LIKE I WILL KEEP BEING NEW SINCE THE LIVE CD I BURNED WILL NOT WORK AFTER I BOOT UP. THE ONLY THING IT DOES IS OPEN UP THE MENU ... THATS IT... THEN FOLLOWING THE DIRECTIONS I BOOT-UP AND NOTHING HAPPENS.... ACTUALLY THE SCREEN FLASHES A COUPLE OF TIMES BUT WINXP CONK YOUNTINUES TO LOAD.

I HAVE BURNED 5 CD'S ALREADY, TRIED COPYING, TRYIED MAKING IT A BOOTABLE CD... ALL WITH NERO AND NOTHING.

I HAVE A DELL INSPIRON 5160 40GB HARDDRIVE
    I HAVE TRIED THE CD ON A SONY VAIO PCG-FX301 10 GB AND NOTHING...
    HELPPPPP!!!
    THANK YOU!

Re: KUBUNTU LIVE CD DOES NOT WORK AT REBOOT

Hi,

Can you explain more why it's not booting please ?
    Is it trying to load the cd, or is it doing just like usual (boot to windows ) ?
    If yes, you should modify your bios to be able to boot from cd.

Comment

I can think of three possible problems, you may have some other problem that I can't think of.
      (1) You may have had a problem downloading the CD. Did you check the md5sum of the iso file before you burned it?
      (2) You may have had a problem burning the CD. Did you burn it at reasonably slow speed. When I'm burning an iso, I use a 24x CD-R and I burn it at 8x.
      3) Did you copy the *.iso file to the CD (WRONG), or did you burn the isofs to the CD-R? I'm sorry, I've forgotten what Nero calls those two methods. Start your computer in windoze. Insert your cdrom and look at it's contents in Windoze Explorer (Do they still call it that?) If it contains only one file called whatever.iso, it's burned the wrong way. You should see a large number of files in several directories.

Comment

HELLO SKY AND AL..... THANK YOU FOR YOUR PROMPT RESPONSE