This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

cant get wireless internet to work.

So, I am dual-booting Vista and Kubuntu right now. Wireless is built into my laptop and worked/works when I am on Vista, But i am unable to use wireless internet on Kubuntu.

I am really new to Linux, and am almost thinking of uninstalling it.. due to this frustrating problem with the wireless connection.

Anyone have any answers?

Thanks.

-Caty

Re: cant get wireless internet to work.

Laptop - make and model? Wireless - make and model? What output do you get when you input into Konsole - Termainal Program:
    lspci
    ?
    "A problem well stated is a problem half solved." --Charles F. Kettering
    "Sometimes the questions are complicated and the answers are simple."--Dr. Seuss

Comment

Plug up a network cable so that you can go on line to get the needed files. Go to the Kmenu and select systems and click on adept manager. When adept manager starts up in the search field type in ndiswrapper. Click the arrow key on the left and select install do this for all of them. Then hit the apply button at the top of the adept manager window. After installing them you will need to get the Windows XP (.inf file) for your wireless card. Find out what kind of wireless card that you have and download the XP driver. If you are in Kubuntu save it to your desktop. After getting ndiswrapper installed and the driver for your wireless card. Click the Kmenu again and go to system or settings and you should see Windows Wireless drivers click on it and the windows wireless driver window will open up.Click to install new driver and find the XP driver and open up the ,inf file and it should show that you hardware is working. Then all you have to do is right click on the ethernet icon at the bottom of your screen and connect to your wireless network.

Comment

Friends,

I have the same issue on a Acer TravelMate 2312LC_L

lspci gives this :