X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need Help Installing Mozilla Firefox Browser

Hey guys,

I am new to Linux. I was using Ubuntu since a friend of mine installed it for me..I've had enough of the Windows crap for a while. Anyways, I recently switched to Kubuntu KDE4. I seem to like it better than Ubuntu..but I digress here. My question is how can I install Mozilla Firefox browser into Kubuntu. I don't really care for Konqueror, and I have been using Epiphany (yawn) but when I download Firefox, I don't know where to go from there to get it installed. I'm not familiar with all the Linux codes and using the terminal and what not, so if there is an easy user friendly way for a newbie like me to get it up and going, I would appreciate the help. Thanks guys!

~Phil
    "If we lose the sense of the mysterious, life is no more than a snuffed out candle"  Albert Einstein

Re: Need Help Installing Mozilla Firefox Browser

My guess is that you shouldn't have downloaded Firefox.

You didn't say which version of Kubuntu you are using but whatever version you are using, you have to enable some software repositories. Here is a link about how to do that.
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Repositories/Kubuntu

After you've enable the Repositories, you can use the option that says "Add/Remove Programs" or you can use Adept to install Firefox and most other software.

If this isn't clear, you can do a Google search for Kubuntu repositories. You could try using the name or number of the version you are using in your search like Kubuntu Feisty Repositories. What you are trying to do is really very easy.

Eric Jackson

Comment

Thanks Eric,

I got it now. I am using Kubuntu 8.04 Hardy. I followed your advice and got it working. I apologize for my ignorance, but I am quite new to the Linux world, so this is a whole new ball game for me. Thanks for the help. So far I am liking this OS much better than Winderz.