Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New guy looking for applications to use...

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New guy looking for applications to use...

Hello, I've been trying Kubuntu using the Live CD for awhile, and the time has come, I decided to install it on my hard drive.

I installed some stuff like Firefox and amsn, but I'm still a newbie and I want to get applications like the ones I used in Windows,so if any of you guys can help, I'll appreciate it!

1.-An image editor, like Paint Shop Pro or Adobe Photoshop.

2.-Skype. Some kind of application with connection to the Skype network or the ability to make phone calls from my computer.

3.-A music editor, some kind of application in which you can edit music files, convert between formats, rip audio from videos or cds, add effects, and such... Like Cool Edit Pro

4.-A guitar tab player, I don't care if it can't edit tabs, as long as it plays them. Preferably an application which can open Power Tabs (*.ptb) or Guitar Pro tabs (*.g3p,*.g4p,*.g5p).

5.-An antivirus! (just kidding )

Thanks in advance

Re: New guy looking for applications to use...

The only one I get help you there with is the image editor and the only one is GIMP that can get close to matching Paint Shop Pro.

If you go to add remove software in your K-Menu, under multimedia you may be able to find some apps there that deal with the music side of things, although I did dabble in this area with not much success other than being able to hook up my MIDI keyboard into a softsynth using jack.

Stangely enough there is an anti-virus program that I had heard of, clam something or other, nevermind, I'm waffling.

I hope this helps

Comment

Welcpme to the club / party

to answer a few of your questions I'll have to ask a few:

Which color / version of kubuntu are you installing?

Depending on that have a look here for codecs and skype:
      http://www.medibuntu.org/

especially the repos howto.