This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Kubuntu 8.04 Login loop...

Hello all - I've had a bit of a nose round the forum but I'm only on a 56K dialup and it's taking ages, so I'm just asking, as a complete newby (newbie?), if anyone can explain why, after entering my password when logging in, the screen freaks out for a second and returns me to the login. I have had Kubuntu 8.04 installed on 12GB of my Intel Mac HD for about a month and it worked fine until last week. I don't know much about the goings-on with terminal, root, sudo and so on, but I'm willing to have a bash if there's anyone who can help me. My wife tells me I'm not stupid, but you'd all better treat me as such for now...

Re: Kubuntu 8.04 Login loop...

The first question is: "What did you change last week?"
    Second: Define "freaks out"?

Comment

Hi
      inresponse to:

The first question is: "What did you change last week?"
      Second: Define "freaks out"?

Good questions, both...I haven't changed anything significant, I don't think, and certainly not with Kubuntu, and when I say 'freaks out', I just mean that the video graphics flickers and fizzles and goes black for a halfsecond (as though it was rebooting, say), then reappears at the login pane.

I'm sure I can reinstall it all but was wondering if it was just a simple fix (ha ha). Anyway, any help is much appreciated....SB

Comment

There are multiple known causes for "login loop syndrome":

- full filesystem
        - broken graphics driver installation
        - root privileges assigned to files in /home directory (this is caused by running the file manager as root and saving stuff in your user /home folder -- files most frequently screwed up are ".ICEauthority" and ".kde". You can (as a user) rename them with the "mv" command -- see post below -- and then restart X to see if this fixes the problem)

probably others that I haven't remembered yet ....

Comment