This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Absolute Newbie Question

I have maybe a total of 4 hours on Kubuntu, so please be patient.
    Question: After downloading mySQL via adept I want to start the administrative UI for it. How do I run a program that has been installed in /root ? I can find the exe's but clicking on their icons doesnt do anything.

Re: Absolute Newbie Question

Hi,

Welcome to linux and kubuntu
    First I would like to know how you managed to install staff in /root and how you're able to see it in konqueror ?
    If it's really this, you have to be root, no ?
    If not, can you tell us what application you're trying to launch please ?

Comment

Perhaps I'm misreading something. I installed MySQL via adept, and yes I suppose that adept has root access. In general terms, should I be able to execute an exe that was found on the machine ? Maybe mySQL is not a good example because I'm guessing there is more than 1 app invovled in getting the client gui running. I also installed Cream for VIM and was able to simply set an application shortcut by calling "cream" as the command argument. Should most applications run in this manner? Or are there only certain ones that can be started from the Run menu or via a command line arg in an Application link. Lastly, if I want to install something thats not found in adept - for example a current version of Eclipse or some rpm of some sort - where can I find instructions on how to do that? Too many question! But I'm loving Kubuntu its way nice.

Comment

Hi.

Generally, with Linux, you don't launch applications by clicking on the application icon in the Konqueror window; you execute them from the command line, assuming your user account has execute privileges on the program. So, for example, to launch a program, you would open up a terminal window (K Menu > System > Konsole) and type:

$ /path/to/program

If it's a program that can only be used by root, do this:

$ sudo /path/to/program