This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Intro + needs help installing driver

Hi there, I'm Matt, and I just installed Kubuntu 8 onto my computer. I've been meaning to for some time now, but since I started working with computer security and have been seeing all the new viruses that have been distroying XP (and I refuse to migrate to Vista), I've decided to try out Kubuntu, and so far I love it! Its so easy to use Python on here, and everything is accessable from the console so easily!

However, I do have a major issue, which is my drivers. I have a Dell Inspiron 9400, and Kubuntu doesn't have any of my drivers, including, most importantly, my wireless card driver. I downloaded it from this (the family) computer onto my flash drive from http://intellinuxwireless.org/?n=Downloads but can't figure out where to put the finicky thing or how to get it to work. Can you help out a complete newbie to both Kubuntu and Linux? (I just installed it tonight with my girlfriend)

EDIT/UPDATE: I tryed the instructions at http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=112526 but at step 2 I get the error...

build-essential depends on libc6-dev | libc-dev; however:
    Package libc6-dev is not installed.
    Package libc-dev is not installed.
    build-essential depends on g++ (>= 4:4.1.1); however:
    Package g++ is not installed.
    build-essential depends on dpkg-dev (>= 1.13.5); however:
    Package dpkg-dev is not installed.
    dpkg: error processing build-essential (--install):
    dependency problems - leaving unconfigured

How do I get around that?

Re: Intro + needs help installing driver

These steps are assuming you have a Wired internet connected.

You might need to enable the repositories.

try this from the console(just copy+paste):
    Code:
    kdesu kate /etc/apt/sources.list
    remove the # from the lines beginning wint #deb
    Save, and then update the repositories
    Code: