Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Old laptop. No CD boot, No Network, how to install??

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Old laptop. No CD boot, No Network, how to install??

Ok, I am quite new to Linux, I have managed to get Kubuntu dual Booting on my XP box and play with it now and then but now I have a challenge for all the Beards out there...

I have acquired a very old laptop (Dell Latitude CP) which had a corrupted install of Win95 on it. I want to give it a new lease of life and am trying to install Xubuntu.

Here are the problems...
    • The BIOS only allows booting from Floppy or Hard drive
    • It has no onboard network

So far I have tried...
    • a Debian Minimal Install (net drivers do not recognise either a Netgear PCMCIA wireless card or a generic USB/Ethernet adapter)
    • HDD in a caddy attached to my PC, used UNetBootIn to install to USB HDD (wouldn't boot in the laptop
    • HDD in a caddy attached to my PC, straight install from the alt CD (partially booted but failed to load Hardware drivers and stalled boot) - best result so far

I guess the options are to somehow get a network adapter working with the Debian Minimal install (and then use UNetBootIn to install from t'internet)
    OR Install from Alt CD to USB HDD on my desktop, then some how edit the installation so it boots when the HDD is returned to the laptop.

They tell me that the greatest living Linux minds are regulars on this forum, we'll see...

Re: Old laptop. No CD boot, No Network, how to install??

Welcome to the Kubuntu Forums. As one of the 'beards' here (literally, and full of gray to boot), I can appreciate your situation. I'm not the one with the answers, but there are others here who most likely do. Your situation is a challenge to be sure, but most probably not insurmountable. Does the laptop have a CD player or not?
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007