X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Installation of Kubuntu

Hi! First of all i'm a newbie so bear with my stupid questions

Right now, i have windows xp professional edition i want to change it to kubuntu!! How can i install it

I downloaded it on a torrent site and after that i burned it as a data disc on my nero!!

How can i start.........

Re: Installation of Kubuntu

Why not start with a dual boot?

Take a look at http://whoiam55.at.preempted.net/?p=18

The only comments I'd make, beyond what's there, is to say that you should get all the information you can about your monitor and your internet connection before you start. You can learn about your internet connection by starting a command console in windows and typing
    Code:
    ipconfig /all
    and copying down everything you can about eth0. It's a little harder to get information about your monitor, you certainly know the resolution of your display, but you should also know the frequency range of horizontal and vertical frequncies that your monitor can use. This is easy to find if you have the owners manual. Otherwise you'll have to go to the manufacturer's web site and look up your monitor by its model number.

Comment

First of all, you need to burn the ISO, not as a data disc, but as a CD image. Otherwise, you won't be able to boot that CD. (And don't burn it as bootable. It automatically becomes bootable once you burn the CD Image). And also make sure if what you downloaded is the install CD, not the Live CD.

Second, unless you absolutely want to overwrite (erase) your Windows XP installation, unless you're absolutely sure that you will not use it again, I suggest you use a separate partition to install kubuntu. This way, you can keep both installations. If you're absolutely sure you want to do away with XP, I still suggest you make a separate partition for the /home directory, so that you settings/files will be safe if ever you need to reinstall Kubuntu.