This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Lost on broadband internet

I need some help setting up my internet in Kubuntu 8.04.

I've had a fairly extensive search through the forums on this topic, although that has just left me more confused for the most part. I'm quite new at both Linux and non-dialup internet, coming from an XP system.

When trying to view any online content through Konqueror, I get "Unknown Host: (url)"

I am using a Speedstream 4200 modem, connected directly to my motherboard via ethernet, I'm not sure what other information is important.

Re: Lost on broadband internet

have you tried rebooting with it on? as Kubuntu/Ubuntu/Linux should auto-scan for an ethernet device upon boot-up and look for a broadband modem and send out packets to connect to the net from ur isp.

if not, or try this test, if it shows nothing or stalls then u have no net, if it shows info. then your connected to the net.

open up the terminal and type(then press enter):

whois 64.34.177.146

it should show:

Peer 1 Network Inc. PEER1-BLK-08 (NET-64-34-0-0-1)
    64.34.0.0 - 64.34.255.255
    ServerBeach PEER1-SERVERBEACH-02A (NET-64-34-176-0-1)
    64.34.176.0 - 64.34.191.255

# ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2008-04-26 19:10
    # Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database.
    Wanna know more about Me and My computer then click here

Comment

Booting with the modem on doesn't fix the problem.

Typing the whois command returned something telling me that the 'whois' program is not installed.

It suggested I try sudo apt-get whois, which told me that the program is unavailable. I guess that's because I have no internet.

I know that the modem and internet work, because I'm using them through XP to type this.

Comment

hmmm, i found this: