This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

just installed 8.04, problems getting ndiswrapper going

the title basically says it all here. i'm fairly new to linux--i've fiddled with it before, and can generally do most anything i need to do if i'm guided through the process, but i'm currently trying to install ndiswrapper on my dell inspiron 1100 with kubuntu 8.04 to get my wireless card working, and it's giving me fits. i've downloaded the latest version of ndiswrapper from the web, but when i try to compile and install it spits out a bunch of weird errors.

basically, i was wondering if anyone could walk me through the process of getting ndiswrapper installed on 8.04, and if that won't work, if there's another way of getting a windows driver to play nice with kubuntu 8. thanks in advance.

Re: just installed 8.04, problems getting ndiswrapper going

Please post the output of:
    Code:
    lspci -v | grep Ethernet
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
    "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

that output:

02:01.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4401 100Base-T (rev 01)

Comment

Okay. Broadcom. Yep, you'll need to use ndiswrapper!

A bit dated, so read it through: HOWTO: Broadcom 43xx based wireless cards the EASY way.

Comment

i'm a little confused--it seems that you had me lspci the ethernet controller--my wireless card is a linksys model, the wpc11 v4 that gives everyone fits all the time .

is your response still the one i should follow?

Comment

The lspci -v indicates you have a Broadcom ethernet controller (or at least, the chip set is Broadcom). The card may be manufactured by Linksys. Is this the case?

Comment