This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

getting to graffics

ok so ive tried installing kubuntu 5.10 i386 and the 64 bit version... both times get through the setup and it asks me to login and all. but then i just get a command line. how do i get to my kde/ graffical interface?? (obviously im brand new to linux so please be as detailed as possible)
    -s

Re: getting to graffics

There seems to be something the matter with the way your graphics system is set up by the installer. Login at the command line and type "startx". Either it will start and we can see why it doesn't start automatically, or it will fail. If it fails it will give an error message. Copy that down and post it here.

Comment

so the above happens when i install for the first time. when i turn off or restart from there and try to boot back up i keep getting stuck.. the last line says checking battery state. this was true of 64 bit as well.

Comment

Try adding a line at he start of the boot that says "noapci" That should stop it from checking the battery.

Comment

ok the main error(there is a whole page of stuff) says fatal server error: no screens found

Please consult the TheX.org Foundation support

please also check the log file at "/var/log/Xorg.0.log" for additional info

XIO: fatal IO error 104 (connection reset by peer) on X server ":0.0" after 0 requests (0 known processed) with 0 events remaing

Comment

Okay, there's something wrong with your /etc/X11/xorg.conf file! That should be fixable. First you have to find some information about your monitor. You need to learn the minimum and (more important) the maximum values of the horizontal frequency (in kHz) and the vertical refresh rate (in Hz).