This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

kdesu kate won't run

Newbie here... I've been reading how to setup my network interface, i.e., kdesu kate (or nano etc.) /etc/network/interface, or Edit as Root within kate.

None of them start up. When I press enter on the command line options, no new task appears on the task bar, and nothing happens.

Do I need to install them first? How do I do that? All help much appreciated.

Re: kdesu kate won't run

I think Kate is installed by default if you are using Kubuntu.
    You can check that in you program menu >> Utilities.

If by any chance its not installed then install using apt-get or apdet.

You must be getting some error mesage at Konsole..

Comment

I can run kate just fine, can open files etc. but need to use root privileges to update system files.

This is where I'm having trouble. I can't seee any error message anywhere. Is there some log file I can check?

Comment

try kdesudo kate

or from commandline sudo kate

Comment

kdesudo doesn't exist, and many of the other posts here caution against using sudo with a gui program... recommending that I should use kdesu instead of sudo.

Thanks for the suggestions though

Comment

There is a console editor you can use even if you've never worked in a console before. It's called nano.
            If it is not installed, Install it with adept. Because it is a console app you will not see it on the K menu. You start it with a command.

Start the kde konsole app. Type "cp /etc/network/interfaces /etc/network/interfaces.old". Then type "sudo nano /etc/network/interfaces". Enter your password.

You will see a display of the /etc/network/interefaces use your arrow keys to navigate to where you want to go,
            type in whatever, type ctl-o to save and ctl-x to exit.

Comment

sudo nano gives me the same result as kdesu kate

Comment