X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Continuous freezing

Dear all,
    I am a Linux newbie. I have dual boot ( Windows Vista 64bit) and Kubuntu Gutsy Gibbon on my HP 6710b ( GB893EA, 2,2 gb intel core 2 duo, 2 GB RAM, 160 GB HD...). Since Kubuntu was installed i have experienced numerous problems:
    1.Knetworkmanager
    It disconnetcts from the wirelless router on its own, sometimes after 15 min and sometimes after a longer period of time.At the same time the Knetworkmanager icon disappears from the taskbar and if I try to run it from Kmenu->Internet->Knetworkmanager nothing happens, except that the computer freezes and i have unplug the power cord since none of the buttons work ( ctrl+esc, alt+ctrl+backspace...)
    2. The computer also freezes while I'm on the internet or just watching a movie, in fact this is the second version of this article because it freezed while I was typing the first one.
    3. The computer doesn't want to shut down or restart-the screen goes black and there are some errors ( like: Knetworkmanager...terminated).At the end the computer says "will now restart/halt" but it fails to do so, so I'm back at unplugging it from the electricity cord.

I really don't know whether I should install the entire OS again or whether it can be fixed by typing some strange codes in the konsole...is it possible that my computer (HP) doesn't play well with Linux? Or should I just try another distribution ( I think I read that SuSe Linux is good for HP computers.)

If anyone can help me...I would be most grateful.
    Bye,
    Anna
    I break it, therefore I learn it.<br />

Re: Continuous freezing

OK, on #2 and #3, this might help:

http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/inde...opic=3088251.0

Hopefully that will bring the cord-pulling to an end!