This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

K3b issue: how to add to CD..?

I'm new to K3b. I find it impressive and a pleasure to use. However, I cannot figure out how to do something fairly simple. I'm working on archiving backup files. I need to write files to a CD, then add more files, over time, until the CD is effectively full.

How do I get K3b to look at my partially full CD, and then add additional files to it? I insert the CD, respond to the little gold CD icon in the taskbar at screen bottom by clicking the "mount" option. I can see it in the file tree in K3b. But it seems only to be seen as a SOURCE of files, not a TARGET.

I seem only to be offered the opportunity to start a NEW project. That won't do it. I want to continue a project. And no, I didn't save a project description file when I wrote the initial batch of files to the CD. I shouldn't have to. The program should be able merely to read the CD and go on from there.

I do see the main menu "File > New Project > Continue multisession project" option, but it doesn't do anything. The "session import" modal window message box which comes up and invites me to "... insert an appendable CD...." never recognizes that I HAVE inserted my CD. Nothing I've tried will cause it to recognize the CD.

I know this must be a fairly common operation. How do other people do it? I'd appreciate any ideas anyone has on what I could do to get this to work.

Re: K3b issue: how to add to CD..?

I don't know the answer from personal experience, but Mr. Google turned this up which appears to have some answers, if you read down the thread:

http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...roblem-283857/

Comment

Re: K3b issue: how to add to CD..?

Kubuntu Gutsy, K3b 1.0.4

Inserting CD > Kubuntu tells:
      A new medium has been detected. What do you want to do ?
      Pressing "Cancel"