This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I'm looking for an RSS reader

Hello all, I'm pretty new to linux and I'm using kubuntu 7.10.

I want to use an RSS reader that has the following features:
    -ability to view in full page (not just the titles)
    -ability to show only unread feeds

I've tried Thunderbird and Akregator but they seem to fall short. Thunderbird does not have full page view, while for Akregator, I can toggle "show all" to "show unread" but I've to do this manually every time I change the channel/folders.

I wonder if anyone here has any suggestions.
    On windows I was using Great News and I'm still using as windows is still my main platform, though I'm trying to change this and I'm doing this one bit at a time, starting from newsfeeds, email, IM (shouldn't be a problem with kopete and pidgin).

Thanks in advance.

Re: I'm looking for an RSS reader

Well, this is my first day here, but I've been running Linux for some time. Only recently did I shift over to Kubuntu.

I sort of wondered if there were any questions I was capable of answering -- I'm more of a musician than a computer expert -- but I use my computer for so many different tasks I guess I'm a 'computer use' expert by default ;-)

Anyway, I use a program called rawdog. First the links:

Homepage: http://offog.org/code/rawdog.html

Debian package: http://packages.debian.org/rawdog

It's available through synaptic, at least on Gutsy.

Now, I'm suggesting this because:

1. It's highly configurable.

2. It's not a viewer or GUI in itself. It reads the feeds and writes an actual HTML page you can view with your browser of choice.

3. If you're new to Linux, it might be a good way to learn to control something fairly powerful and feature-filled with a single text configuration file. Plus, it's not exactly something system critical. Any mistakes would be 'learning experiences'

4. I've been using it regularly to backup my Wordpress blog.