This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Trying out Linux

I'm interested in Linux. Mainly curious. What is the best Linux to use ( i heard there are many versions, im not sure) for someone who wants to mess around and just want something new to play around with since i can't play with Vista yet.
    Something that is almost as functional as Win XP.
    8)

Re: Trying out Linux

Kubuntu 7.10, Ubuntu 7.10, the latest MEPIS.
    Do them all -- put them all on the same drive, 10-15 GB each, and dual boot.

http://distrowatch.com/

Kubuntu is neat and works well for XP people.
    Which is why we are all here.
    An intellectual says a simple thing in a hard way. An artist says a hard thing in a simple way. Charles Bukowski

Comment

Hi.

I'm a linux noob (totally non technical) and have played around for some time with Red Hat, Mandrake as was and Mandriva and Suse plus a couple of others. Without doubt I can say that Kubuntu is the best that I have ever used. It has always worked 'straight out of the box' and the only issues I have are when I try something for 'fun'. Currently that would be trying to get Compiz to run on my ATI Radeon card.

Having said that if you are happy with a fast, smart and very well supported system DONT play around but if you are curious always search the web for info. There is so much and probably too much sometimes so schedule some reading time! Openoffice provides all I need and there are sooooo many other bits of software to cater for all tastes - you'd be mad to stay with Windoze!

Celeron CPU G1610@2.60GHz x 2
      GeForce 8400 GS/PCle/SSE2
      Kubuntu 14.04 - 64 bit Linux - KDE 4.13.0

Comment

Hi,