Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie/Complete Idiot's/Dummy's Guide to Dual booting XP - Kubuntu 7.04 Laptop

I should probably be the last person to create a post on this, but i did it with my limited knowledge and hence i am uniquely qualified to write this.

I started playing around with a Ubuntu 6.06 Live CD then moved on to Kubuntu 7.04 Live CD for a couple of months. I finally got the courage to go for it and was successful!!!

I refer to a lot of sources here and i thank all the authors.

The below steps describe how to dual boot Kubuntu 7.04 on a single hard drive XP laptop. I am sure there are a lot of detailed and perfect way to do it and they are documented too. This is how a Newbie/Complete Idiot/Dummy (like yours turly) can do it.
    Steps :
    1) Take a backup of all the important files from your Laptop on DVD or External harddrive. (Absolutely no shortcuts here. Do it.)
    2) Run the Disk Deframent tool in Windows XP on your Harddrive.
    3) From Windows download and burn GPartEd Live CD from http://gparted.sourceforge.net/download.php
    4) Watch the video 3 and 4 from this link http://www.linux.com/articles/114157
    5) Shrink the XP partition and create the '/' (5 GB) , Linux-swap (twice the size of your RAM) and '/home' partitions (Linux storage space you want) as explained in the video.
    6) From Windows download and burn the Kubuntu 7.04 Live CD.
    7) Reboot with the Kubuntu 7.04 Live CD. Click Install.
    8 ) Initial screens and questions are simple enough. The tricky part is when the Partitions screen pops up. Pick the Manual option. Point the '/', Linux-swap and '/home' partitions on this screen as you created in point 5. The '/' and Linux-Swap partitions will be re-formatted again.
    9) Proceed with the rest of the installation.
    10) Restart the Laptop without the LiveCD.
    11) At Bios level you will get option to boot Kubuntu (First option) or XP (Last option).