X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Adept Manager / KDE Sudo problems

Dear Kubuntu Community,

I am a complete newbie in the Linux world and I have been running Kubuntu Gutsy Gibbon for about a week now. After some system update Adept Manager complained that it couldn't apply all the changes and I am having some annoying problems.

For e.g. at start-up I keep on getting this message:

And whenever I try to install ANY packages Adept Manager gives out an error like this one:

http://img80.imageshack.us/my.php?im...apshot1ly8.png

I tried running Adept Notifier to update my system but it keeps on failing.

Can you please guide me through a possible solution to this problem? Maybe I need to look at some logs or boot-up Kubuntu with special keywords? Whatever it is, if you need more info I will gladly co-operate aslong as you tell me where to find it. :]

I thank everyone in advance,
    sneg_

Re: Adept Manager / KDE Sudo problems

Not sure about the kdesu (KDE sudo) problem, but from the screenshot you provided, the problem is this:

Look at he line, where it reads "Configuration file '/etc/qt3/qt3_plugins_3.3rc' and beyond - the installer asks a question, but unfortunately, you cannot answer this from Adept manager, because the tool doesn't yet support input - instead, the installer gets EOF (end-of-file, a special character) and doesn't continue. So there you have the reason.

Solution to this would be to perform installation with something that DOES support user input during installation. There are MANY ways to do this:
    • use Synaptic package manager, which is more mature - downside is that you can't install it right now, can you?! It doesn't come as standard in Kubuntu