This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Swap question

Im new to the whole linux thing and I have a question that has been bothering me for a while now:

I recently bought a brand new 320gb hard drive (thanks god...80GB was wayyy too small) and right now its partitioned in 3:

Part 1: 40GB -> This is the partition where my windows XP OS is installed
    " 2: 40GB-> Right now its empty and not even formated, I plan to install Kubuntu on it
    " 3: The remaining 240GB, I plan to partition it as NTFS so it can hosts my games/applications/etc.. for my windows partition

To make a long story short, Im wondering If I should (before formating my 240GB partition) make a 0.5 or 1gb swap partition for my linux (or is this process automatic when i will install the OS)

I have a P4 2.8 GHz with 512mb of ram(for now...will buy some more soon)

Re: Swap question

You should find this link helpful.
    Windows no longer obstructs my view.
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007.
    "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

Just so I can get it out of the way, "swap" is a little partition (usually 1.5 or 2 times the size of your computer's RAM) that helps with memory management and multi-tasking.
      So I guess I should make a 1gb swap partition?

But when I install Kubuntu, do I have the choice to make one (take 1gb out of my 40GB Kubuntu partition and set it as swap) or I must make it prior to my Kubuntu installation (boot from windows CD, take 1gb out of my RAW 240GB partition and set it as a swap partition when I install Kubuntu)?

Oh and thanks for the link.

Comment

The Kubuntu LiveCD does come with Gparted, but most prefer to download/burn the actual GParted LiveCD and do the drive partitioning with it 'in preparation' for the *ubuntu installation. You'll find numerous posts about this if you search on GParted in this forum.
        Windows no longer obstructs my view.