This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Closing the x server

first off I am a complete beginner to linux.
    I got fed up with all those blue screens of death so I switched over earlier this week

I have tried fedora, pclinuxos, Ubuntu, and finally with success Kubuntu. supposedly it's my motherboard's faulty, some Jmicron thing.

Anyways I am trying to (among many things) install my video card drivers. I cant figure out how to install anything. I first went to the Nvidia website and downloaded the drivers. I tried following the instructions but cant close this stupid x server. I don't even know what the x server is. anyways I tried to "init 3" in the Konsole and nothing happened. I then tried to boot up the drivers but I still got an error message telling me to close the x server. I tried init 2 and nothing happened. init 1 shut things down but it still didn't solve my problem. So I tried ctrl alt F1, it got me out of the GUI and to a text base login. I worked my way through that but once again still get the same error message. So How in the hell do you close the X server

I tired ENVY but I cant figure out how to install .deb package. I tried apt-get, I have followed every idiot on every message board and I just cant get these dam drivers to work. can someone help me out

Thanks

Re: Closing the x server

Sure. Let's approach it one thing at a time. What JMicron board do you have, what CPU, and what Nvidia card?

Comment

Core 2 Duo E6600
      Asus p5w DH Deluxe
      EVGA 8800 GTS
      Gsklill DDR2 800

I have 1 74 gig raptor formatted for Kubuntu and (2) 250 gig HD's with media on them that I cant mount.

Comment

That's a nice rig! I'm kinda jealous of that Nvidia 8800GTS!

I have a pair of those 74GB Raptors in my wife's Wintel machine -- they've been running in RAID 1 configuration for about 3.5 years now, zero problems (except the semi-annual Winbloze re-installation, of course).