X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Kubuntu 5.10 repositories

Hi guys!

I am your very new user, and I hope I can help you guys as much as you'll help me

For starters, I am new to Kubuntu, I do have som Ubuntu experience though, so I am familiar with the Terminal, apt-get and dpkg -i, but since I am new to Kubuntu, I'd surely like to ask for some help.

The first problem I've encountered is the source.list-file. I can't seem to get the repositories to work. (I've tried the Kubuntuguide, but that didn't help me much), so my first question to you is:

Is there anyone out there that would be so kind and post their repositories list in this thread?

Sincerely

Torstein

P.S. Does anyone know how to get Canon i850 printer to work under 5.10?

Re: Kubuntu 5.10 repositories

I would suggest this (from aysiu).

http://www.psychocats.net/linux/sources.php

It WILL help.
    I wish I was the man my dog thinks I am.<br /><br />Registered Linux User No. 402825

Comment

Thanks Lowey23!

At last, I can update my packages, whithout getting any errors! Very nice, mate!

But i am still experiencing troubles with my Canon i850 (printer), do you have any tips regarding that?

Sincerely

Torstein

Comment

I'm still too new at this myself to help you with your printer problem, but if you could give a little more specific information, I am sure that some of the good people on this forum will be able to assist.

Lowey
        I wish I was the man my dog thinks I am.<br /><br />Registered Linux User No. 402825

Comment

Well, I am not sure what kind of information I need to provide, but here goes:

It's a printer from Canon. The model is named i850.

It is plugged into com1 (parallell port)

When using Ubuntu 5.04, all that needed to be done, was adding a new printer, using the BJC 7004 driver, since the i850 isn't supported yet.

The BJC 7004 driver in Kubuntu results in nothing. The printer won't even start the printing!

Any thoughts about this concern?

Comment

Torstein.