This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Error Installing Java

Hi! I'm a newbie to Kubuntu 7.04 and I am trying to install Java. I have tried several things and now I am getting the following error:

Do you want to continue? [Y/n/?] y
    Writing extended state information... Done
    Get:1 http://archive.ubuntu.com feisty/multiverse sun-java6-bin 6-00-2ubuntu2 [26.2MB]
    Get:2 http://archive.ubuntu.com feisty/multiverse sun-java6-jre 6-00-2ubuntu2 [6324kB]
    Fetched 32.5MB in 2m1s (269kB/s)
    E: Failed to fetch http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/poo...ntu2_i386.deb: MD5Sum mismatch
    anthony@anthony-desktop:~$

What is a MD5Sum mismatch error anyway? Is there anyway to rectify this? Thanks in advance for any help!

Re: Error Installing Java

An MD5sum is a method of matching the downloaded file to the original file to insure they are exactly the same. an error indicates that they are not the same and you should not use the file. Best thing to do in this case is to just start over and try again.

Comment

Originally posted by Detonate
      An MD5sum is a method of matching the downloaded file to the original file to insure they are exactly the same. an error indicates that they are not the same and you should not use the file. Best thing to do in this case is to just start over and try again.
      Err...What do you mean by 'start over'? Completely install Kubuntu or something else?

Comment

No, just start over with your JRE install.

Comment

No, just start over with your JRE install.
          This is the procedure that I am trying to use to reinstall Java. Is this correct?

sudo aptitude clean
          sudo aptitude update
          sudo aptitude install sun-java6-jre sun-java6.plugin sun-java6.font
          java -version

Comment