Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

need help with epson printer(.rpm?), nvidia and all other linux things.

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

need help with epson printer(.rpm?), nvidia and all other linux things.

A few words at the begining:
    I'm sorry to say, but I've been using windows/dos for some 15 years (read, always) therefore I'm a complete newbie. I've been trying to use (K)ubuntu couple months ago but back then my Vodafone Datacard did not seem to work at all, after 3 days I've made a connection to the outside world but browser could not get any websites so I gave up...

Now:

Firs - I've been expecting the whole thing to be different than mswin, but I do not grasp it at all. Each file I try to open opens in ?Kate?, in a text editor. Are there any executables or anything like this? What extention should I look for when I want to run something, or do I have to do everything in terminal?

Second - I have nVidia Geforce 7300 on my laptop which has 512 MB of memory (256+256 via intel chip), how do I install drivers for this thing? Just nVidia or nVidai and intel drivers?
    I've installed (at least I hope I did) "Envy", however I have no idea where I can find this program now. If it has been installed is there any menu where I can find it? Anyway, once I get to know how to run things I may actually find it

Third - How in hell do I set up 1280:800 resolution on a laptop? I have had 640:480,800:600, 1024:768 options, then I've messed something in hardware section and now have quite OK wide screen with a black stripes at the bottom and top (some 15-20px each) not bad but annoying.

Fourth - Could someone help me with editing Grub? I want windows to be my default option so I will not have to be present each time my system boots. I'm still a win user and at least for the time being I would rather have win as default. So where do I find the equivalend of boot.ini??