X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help with NVidia video driver installer

Hi all,

Right I've been using windows for over 9 years now and Mac osx for the past year odd which I'm both very familiar with, however I want to get to grips with Linux I have installed the latest kubuntu 6.10 and to be honest I haven't a clue what to do now...

I have tried looking up information on my problems but half of what I find I don't understand.

Firstly how do I install applications, I have just install kubuntu so its all on basic settings so far, I need to set up my wireless ADSL modem connection so I can then get on the internet.

secondly if someone could give me some basic information on how to go about installing so I can set my self away, as hoping to get my NVIDIA drivers sorted and set up a nice fancy interface with Beryl.

Thank's

Mr eko

Re: help a complete noob.

"how do I install applications" See "How to install ANYTHING in Ubuntu!" at http://cutlersoftware.com/ubuntuinstall/

"hoping to get my NVIDIA drivers sorted " Check out the script "Envy" at http://www.albertomilone.com/nvidia_scripts1.html. It finds what card is installed and downloads and installs the correct driver. It doesn't seem to work for 100% of people but it is worthwhile giving it a try...

"set up a nice fancy interface with Beryl" Still a bit experimental and not fully stable
    "A problem well stated is a problem half solved." --Charles F. Kettering
    "Sometimes the questions are complicated and the answers are simple."--Dr. Seuss

Comment

ahh nice one cheers well im at work at the moment il try it when i get home later.

whats that program called for wireless routers which allows you to use your windows drivers or some thing along those lines it begins with a N lol

once again cheers

Comment

ndiswrapper

Not all cards need it.
        "Sometimes the questions are complicated and the answers are simple."--Dr. Seuss

Comment