X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Installing Kubuntu goes to a command prompt

Hello,

I am a Linux newbie, and figured that since Ubuntu seemed to be the most popular (and newbie-friendly) version of Linux, I'd start out with that. I grabbed Kubuntu because I saw some stuff about the KDE desktop vs GNOME that I liked better.

I just downloaded and burned the live CD of Kubuntu and was looking forward to installing it when after I chose the "Start Kubuntu" option, I was greeted with an unfriendly-looking command prompt, not the installation GUI I expected. I figured out how to reboot with the "sudo reboot" commmand, but attempting to continue the install with "boot: live" or "boot" told me that the command "boot" did not exist. I had already checked the CD to make sure it had no errors, and it did not (0 checksum errors found), so I tried booting it in the safe graphics mode, but to no avail - I still got the command prompt like before.

I went to the #Kubuntu IRC channel on irc.freenode.net, but no one was able to help me aside from guessing the problem might be my video card. I did a bit of research, but didn't find any problems similar to mine, although I did find that in this topic that my card, an ATI 9250, was unsupported by Ubuntu 6.10 unless it had a newer driver version:

http://www.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=262092

The problem is that I don't even have Kubuntu installed, so how am I supposed to install drivers for an OS that doesn't even exist yet? It seems like a terrible catch 22 - I need linux drivers to install linux, and I need to install linux for the drivers...

My question is, what do I need to do to get Kubuntu to install? I'll even settle for a text-install as long as I can get Kubuntu working so that I can install the drivers I need. Is the video card even the problem at all? Finally, is there a way I can disable the ATI video card short of taking it out of the slot so I can use the default video card to install Kubuntu?