This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Brief comments about available Video editing tools

I was given an old DVD of a 80's movie. It came on a double-sided DVD and is two full length (1.5 hrs. roughly) movies. I wanted to put it on my server for viewing. I decided a single video would be smarter and easier to manage than a two-part movie.

Using Handbrake (highly recommended, BTW), I ripped the video off both sides of the DVD and was left with two 700-900 MB mp4 files. The blend looked easy enough as the first movie ended with a simple fade to black and then credits while the second movie began with the same intro as the first, with an additional fade to black before the opening scene. Easy and simple, right?

While I often use Handbrake, I have no real video editing experience or skills so I tried several tools. Much of my results are effected by my lack of skill in this area, but I thought it might be interesting to share and maybe I'll learn something.

KDENLIVE: Had a medium learning curve. I was immediately able to load the two mp4 files, but it took a bit to figure out that I had to "drag" them to the timeline. Once I accomplished that, it took me a half hour to figure out the best way to cut out the two short segments. Then, the first time I tried to export the new video, I got only the second half. I had apparently neglected to indicate the entire video when I choose to export it. The full length export took over 5 hours to save and the result was 9.4GB from two videos that were 1.6GB total. Turns out the video default settings are to export to 1920x1080 so it expanded the frame from 720x480 and put black bars on the sides. Clearly, one needs a day or two of going through all the settings before using this program. I'm going to try this again when I have time to see if I can get a better result.