This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How can I play WMV files?

I am totally new to Linux and a friend of mine adviced me to try Kubuntu as a first choice. I am now trying to play WMV files that I got by E-mail. Any ideas what I have to do to make Totem movie player or other movie players play the files?

Re: How can I play WMV files?

I don't use totem, but probably installing the codecs listed in the video codecs section in this thread helps.

Alternatively, install vlc (video lan client). I think the new version comes with it's own wmv support, if that's not there yet (multiverse repository), installing w32codecs should enable wmv support for vlc.

Comment

Originally posted by hallurg
      I am totally new to Linux and a friend of mine adviced me to try Kubuntu as a first choice. I am now trying to play WMV files that I got by E-mail. Any ideas what I have to do to make Totem movie player or other movie players play the files?
      I'm a Newbie too, Kubuntu user for 8 months now.
      Easiest way to install codecs is to get Automatix2, it is a package manager that will easily install the codecs .
      But I still can't get any WMV files in emails to open by a default program. ( I'm using Thunderbird ).
      I have to click on the media file attachment and download it to my desktop. from the desktop it will then open with kaffeine by default.
      I haven't been able to get kaffeine to open the WMV files from within thunderbird

Comment

Hi I am trying to install w32codecs so that I can play wmv files.

I get the error message as per attached screen shot.

Can anyone help. Warning I am a complete novice!
        Attached Files

Comment

Originally posted by Liam
          I am trying to install w32codecs