This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

sudo error because of time error

When I try a "sudo" command in console I get this message: "timestamp too far in the future." The time this message reports is 3 hours later than the time showing on the desktop. Unfortunately, I can't do anything using sudo.
    I'm sure that this is a simple problem to fix, but I'm a newbie. Help, please.

Re: sudo error because of time error

Congratulations, you have found the answer the ever popular question "Why do I need Administrative privileges to do something as simple as fixing the clock?" Wait 3 hours and try again. If that doesn't work, (or you didn't change the time right before this started) then the problem has to do with the difference between the way that M$ and Linux treat time.

Basically, on a pure Linux system the hardware clock is set to Universal Time (and can be configured to be reset every day, so you're never more than a few milliseconds off). But Big Bill or one of his minions figured out that it would be easier to just set the Hardware clock ONCE to the local time zone and adjust it once a year to take account of the switch to daylight saving on the appropriate date.

So what's a poor dual booter to do? One answer is to start a konsole (K>System>Konsole) and enter the command "sudo tzconfig". Give your password when requested. Then answer tzconfig's questions. Another answer is to start Konqueror, navigate to the /etc/default/ directory and right click on the file named "rcS". Choose Actions>"Edit As Root". Enter your password. At the bottom of the file, find the line
    Code:
    UTC=yes
    change "yes" to "no". Yet another answer is to get rid of M$, your machine probably won't run Vista, anyway.

Comment

Thanks for your reply. Strange things:
      I tried the Konqueror "etc/default" maneuver, and it was already set to "no" for UTC.