This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

about installing software...

Well, maybe it'll sound strange, but what if I want to save the downloaded soft (from universe or multiverse) on a CD to istall them offline in a second time? How I can do this? Is it possible?
    Thanks.

Re: about installing software...

Yes.

Apt-get repositories usually use http to comunicate, it's the same system used by webpages. You can download packages using a browser from them.

Maybe a example is more clear. I have the following line in my source.lst

Code:
    deb [url]http://es.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/[/url] edgy main restricted universe multiverse
    Now point a browser here:

http://es.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/

Click on the pool link, and have fun browsing.

Javier.

Comment

thanks. so here I can download stuff. but since I am new to linux, I run in 2 problens:

1. how can I know the when some package require others to fbe istalled?

2. how can I tell adept to install packages from a cd?

thanks, and sorry if I bother.

Piovrauz.

Comment

If they are only a couple of packages, I'd use the "manual" system.

1) Look for the packages prerequisites in adept.
        2) Download the needed packages
        3) Burn a CD
        4) Install them by hand in the other computer (using dpkg -i)

Of course, if we are talking about lots of package, making a CD that apt-get (or adept) can use is a better option. But it is quite a complicated one. I have done it once following a HOW-TO, but I really don't want to do it again .

Unluckily the How-to is in Spanish, I'll link it here anyway.

http://www.ubuntu-es.org/index.php?q=node/27767

It's not the most popular thing to say here, but *ubuntu is very internet oriented. Usually rpm based distros work better without net access. When I need to use linux far without internet or on dial-up I usually choose Mandriva over *ubuntu (the 6-cd version).

Javier.

Comment