X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[CONFIGURATION] Strange behavior NFS 'root squash' and 'no root squash'

Hi

I'm new to engaging with the Linux community in general although I've been using Linux on and off for a few years, so please forgive me if my etiquette is off or I have posted incorrectly, guidance is welcome.

I'm experiencing a strange issue with NFS and wonder if I have found a bug or if I'm missing something. I'm using Kubuntu 18.04 on the desktop and my Server is Ubuntu Server 18.04.

I'm trying to securely share some directories from the server to my desktop, I'll show the configuration I'm trying to achieve and the errors I get (the shares will not mount, access is denied) and the strange way in which I can get it working but not quite as secure as I would like.

Here's my /etc/exports file from the server

rich@server:~$ cat /etc/exports
    /home/rich/unison-sync/Downloads 192.168.1.0/255.255.255.0(rw,sync,root_squash,subtree_check)
    /home/rich/unison-sync/Music 192.168.1.0/255.255.255.0(rw,sync,root_squash,subtree_check)
    /home/rich/unison-sync/Pictures 192.168.1.0/255.255.255.0(rw,sync,root_squash,subtree_check)
    /home/rich/unison-sync/Videos 192.168.1.0/255.255.255.0(rw,sync,root_squash,subtree_check)
    /home/rich/unison-sync/Documents 192.168.1.0/255.255.255.0(rw,sync,root_squash,subtree_check)
    /var/www/rich 192.168.1.0/255.255.255.0(rw,sync,all_squash,subtree_check,ano nuid=33,anongid=33)

Here are the relevant entries from my /etc/fstab file on my kubuntu desktop

# nfs shares
    192.168.1.42:/home/rich/unison-sync/Documents /home/rich/File-Server/Documents nfs rw,soft,intr,noatime,timeo=100,rsize=32768,wsize=3 2768 0 0
    192.168.1.42:/home/rich/unison-sync/Downloads /home/rich/File-Server/Downloads nfs rw,soft,intr,noatime,timeo=100,rsize=32768,wsize=3 2768 0 0
    192.168.1.42:/home/rich/unison-sync/Music /home/rich/File-Server/Music nfs rw,soft,intr,noatime,timeo=100,rsize=32768,wsize=3 2768 0 0