This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

help plz ^_^

ok, so i've been playing with kubuntu for a few months now, and overall i absolutely love the build, plus being the geek i am, i've decided it'd be fun to tinker with the scripting for the applications to see if i can get them to run better. i've had some successes and some failures so far but two weird problems are occuring now.

1. i can't run any video from zshare

and 2. i can't mount my cdrom drive

the story behind the cdrom drive is i did have it mounted and working at one point, but one day i leaned over and the cdrom drive slid out (didn't have a screw securing the cdrom drive into my laptop, my bad, lol) and ever since then it won't recognize cdrom0 or cdrom as a plausible device in the /dev/ folder.........actually i have issues with flash drives too but those can wait lol, any and all help appreciated ^_^

p.s.: almost forgot, i'm running gecko and flashplayer-alternative.so for flashplayer 10 in my firefox libraries.......and i'm using firefox lol, konqueror just has always had a tendancy to crash on me

Re: help plz ^_^

Regarding the CDrom drive, it sounds like one of the cables could be in crooked. That happens easily when the drive falls out - been there. Boot from a live CD to check if the drive works. If it does then its not your installation.

Comment

is laptop cdrom drive, no cables required, but i did actually install windows on a seperate partition after this issue came about, so yeah, i'm sure it still works, just won't let me mount it.

Comment

How are you mounting the CD? I'm using Kubuntu 8.04 and it automounts under it's own label, not as cdrom or cdrom0. I'm pretty sure that's what 10.04 does as well. I assume you've checked by typing mount.

Comment