This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

kubuntu on netbooks. opinions.

My mother is considering buying a netbook and I have no experience with them whatsoever. I am looking at a model that comes preloaded with ubuntu. I would like to hear about experiences with netbooks. I have googled but didn't really find what I wanted to know.

questions:

I would do any admin tasks she needs, but she is a non-tech user. She doesn't do anything out of the ordinary. email, games, facebook etc. Is it mature enough for her? Are apps struggling to fit on the smaller screen?

Can I just "sudo apt-get install kubuntu-desktop" (or something similar) to get a ubuntu preloaded netbook to have kde?

Did wireless work for you out of the box? Please no ndiswrapper.

Are the repositories for the netbook distro the same or equivelant? Would I be surprised to find a common package missing?

any other pro's or con's or revelations would be appreciated. Thanks.
    FKA: tanderson

Re: kubuntu on netbooks. opinions.

Originally posted by tanderson
    would do any admin tasks she needs, but she is a non-tech user. She doesn't do anything out of the ordinary. email, games, facebook etc. Is it mature enough for her? Are apps struggling to fit on the smaller screen?
    the desktop size is just fine , to make a bit more "space" i have turned all my fonts down one or two sizes smaller then default , the only other "admin" task i had to do was to use kwin's window rules to put my web browser on virtual desktop#2 and full screen it when it starts (but you can opt not to do that..) you might want to just show her how to use knetworkmanager so she can connect to the net
    Can I just "sudo apt-get install kubuntu-desktop" (or something similar) to get a ubuntu preloaded netbook to have kde?