Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

[ SOLVED ]:What does all this software do????

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[ SOLVED ]:What does all this software do????

This is as much a comment as a request for help. I am a newbie to kubuntu, although I have spent a bit of time playing with ubuntu, fedora and mint.

I just got kubuntu- notebook ed. from a dvd that came with a magazine and thought I'd give it a go on my acer eee pc.

Initially I was very impressed with the look and feel, unfortunately though, it seems there is a compatibility problem with my wireless set up and so there is no indication that my kubuntu has been able to find my wireless card.

I thought I might be able to rectify this myself, that's when I had my next problem- which bit of software helps It seems that every second piece of software has a name starting with k followed by something seemingly random eg. kate (even with the icon, a pen and paper, it is only with hindsight I can put the logic together).

Can I suggest that, if kubuntu developers wish to continue with current nomenclature, that they also have a descriptor that comes up when hovering over the software with a mouse so that new users know what the various (and possibly useful) software packages do.

ta

ps if anyone can help with the wireless thingy that would be great too

Re: What does all this software do?

It's been a while since I looked at the KDE netbook plasma, but in the desktop plasma descriptions are there by default, e.g. "KATE (Advanced Text Editor)".
    The K naming scheme has nothing to do with Kubuntu but rather with KDE and they seem to have come to the same conclusion like yours.