This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ditching Kubuntu for OpenSuse?

when I first started with Linux, I tried few distros without having anything in mind. I was a complete noob in Linux that I went to a computer shop asking for a Linux & the guy ended up giving me a Red Hat distro that was incompatible with almost all the hardware in my laptop.

My friend, whom I can call a Linux professional suggested I'd try Ubuntu, since I liked KDE my choice was Kubuntu.
    After using Ubuntu/Kubuntu for about 2 to 3 years now I can say I'm quite happy with it until my friend raised a point. Ubuntu/Kubuntu libraries are old & a lot need to be updated.

You can notice that when a new version of a certain software is released at a certain time & the time it takes for that version to be included in Ubuntu releases or updates.

My friend had serious issue on a data server & lost a whole raid 5 array of about 8 Tera bytes after doing an upgrade. I think he managed to recover that at the end if I'm not mistaken.

Anyways, what he is saying is that Canonical is too lazy to keep their packages up to date & that bugs fixed up to a year back still exists into their OS.
    Since he is the guy whom introduced me to Linux & has always been their to support me when I'm in need of assistance before I signed into this forum; I have huge trust in him.
    He is now "ditching Kubuntu" for OpenSuse. Not just that, he is also asking me "Why do you like Kubuntu? Why you do not want to change?"

To be honest with you, I like the OS, perhaps because it is the one I started & got along with, perhaps it is the superior support I got & still get through this forum.

But the question is, what to do & why?
    There is no question that many of the packages are out of date in Ubuntu, but is there anything we can do?
    Why does such a popular distro suffer from that?

Re: Ditching Kubuntu for OpenSuse?