X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Desparate need for Linux drivers

Hi

I am a newbie to Kubuntu, infact to linux itself. I've never had a spare computer or a big enough hard drive to dual boot to experiment. I have just installed Kubuntu 9.04, on my sons computer as a test, and have begun with my first issues to sort out. My sons systems is:

LG 22" Wide Screen Monitor, AMD Athlon X2 7750 Chip, Gigabyte GA-M61PME-S2P motherboard, 230 Gig Hard Drive

Now that we have installed the system, it now appears we need to find linux drivers for the video, sound and network as none are working. The screen is only displaying on 800x600 resolution with only one other smaller resolution. Would anybody be able to direct me to an appropriate site that would have drivers for the above board. At the moment he is using the onboard video as he hasn't been able to afford a good card yet. I did look on the Gigabyte site and they don't have any divers for Linux.

I look forward to any help.

Regards Ian

Re: Desparate need for Linux drivers

Glad you are trying linux. You will probably want to look at the Documentation section of this forum, as it will often have good information for new users. In response to your question, drivers in linux are kernel modules. Linux itself is the kernel, which deals with all the hardware, and other software runs on top of that. To keep the kernel small and fast, support for various pieces of hardware are compiled as modules. These modules load only when needed. You can see which modules are loaded into the kernel by running
    Code:
    lsmod
    in a terminal. This will list the loaded modules.

That should be run from the command line in a terminal. To get that you should open K->Applications->System->terminal.

To see what hardware the kernel has been able to identify and support you can run
    Code:
    lspci