X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Beginner question about QtDesigner and all the Qt stuff

Hi,
    I'm a beginner at kubuntu. I moved to kubuntu because I want to learn QtRuby, but it seems like there's some complication.
    First of all I installed all the packages that *looks* like they relates to Qt and Ruby. But after I installed all those packages (using Adept Manager), I simply can't confirm whether they've been installed or not. Because there is nothing new in the Application Menu. I double checked and Adept manager said that everything I chose had been installed. Now I can't find QtDesigner anywhere?
    And also, I've installed the libraries I thought are needed for QtRuby. Here's my Hello World program:
    Code:
    require 'Qt'
    app = Qt::Application.new(ARGV)
    label = Qt::Label.new("Hello World", nil)
    label.resize(150,30)
    app.setMainWidget(label)
    label.show()
    app.exec
    I ran it using "ruby helloworld.rb" and here's the message returned:
    Code:
    helloworld.rb:5:in `method_missing': undefined method `setMainWidget' for #<Qt::Application:0xb637367c objectName="helloworld.rb"> (NoMethodError)
        from helloworld.rb:5
    I really don't know what I've been missing. Could you please help me with it?

Re: Beginner question about QtDesigner and all the Qt stuff

Try this:

1) Open Adept Manager, click the drop-down arrow for QtDesigner, and click the details button; then click the "Installed Files" tab and thumb through the list looking an executable for the app (probably something like "qtdesigner.desktop") and its directory location - if there is not a "qtdesigner.desktop" executable, look for something like "/usr/bin/qtdesigner".

2) Press Alt-F2 and type the location of the app and run the command. If it works, you've got the right location, if it doesn't, look through Adept's list for another (it's sometimes trial and error). [I would guess it's probably something /usr/bin/qtdesigner]