This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Apt-Get

I am a newbie to Kubuntu. I installed Feisty Fawn a few days ago. I am extremely happy with it. I originally was able to use Adept Manager to get new packages and updates. I was also able to use synaptic package manager. For some reason last night it stopped working. When i hit the reload or update to update the repositories it gets to 99% and stops. I tried doing it manually through the console window and this is what i get.

sudo apt-get update
    E: Could not get lock /var/lib/apt/lists/lock - open (11 Resource temporarily un available)
    E: Unable to lock the list directory

Also when i go to install an update it just sits at 0% for waiting for headers. It does this with any package manager I try to use.

This is really confusing to me because it was working and I havent changed anything. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Re: Apt-Get

This problem happened to me a few times also It maybe that a server is down or being updated. Try going into Adept and then Manage Repositories, here you can change the server you connect to, try changing to a server as close to you as possible. This worked for me, hope it helps

Comment

Sometimes a server for the repositories gets real busy -- you don't want too move to quick when it appears "hung" at 99%. Sometimes 5 minutes later it suddenly finishes.

However, if you're confident that something is messed up with your package manager, here is the sequence that I use to get things straightened out:

Code:
      sudo dpkg --configure -a
      sudo apt-get autoclean
      sudo apt-get autoremove
      sudo apt-get update
      sudo apt-get install
      See if this helps.

Comment

Also, the file mentioned in the error message may have been left behind during a previous session of apt/synaptic/adept(which does seem to happen on occasion)