Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

newbie (straight out of the box) how can I move files using graphical interface

Hi, I have JUST installed KUBUNTU as I am keen to learn about linux and like the kde desktop. I am a COMPLETE LINUX NEWBIE and am about to embark on setting up my speedtouch 330 modem (why I hear you cry... I know I know... but I have this modem and I cant afford a new router YET)
    ANYHOO... my questions are 1) as I am a complete linux muppet I will need to move files around using the graphical interface.... how do you do this using the sudo system as I try to move files to certain folders and I am prevented from doing so as I do not have the right priviledges!!!
    and 2) is there a definitive how to get online with KUBUNTU and the SPEEDTOUCH USB 330 modem? I understand KUBUNTU has everything but the microcode to run the SPEEDTOUCH 330... do I just have to copy the microcode to the relevant directory....?
    Thanks for your patience and help...
    CHEERS ALEX...........

Re: newbie (straight out of the box) how can I move files using graphical interface

Hi,

First of all welcome to linux Hope you will enjoy it as much as I do
    1) you should use "kdesu konqueror" from a run command, like this you will have access as root, but look out, you will be able to destroy the system also...
    2) your should read this wiki, I guess it can be useful https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Us...dem/SpeedTouch

Cheers

Comment

Re: newbie (straight out of the box) how can I move files using graphical interface

great,,, thanks for the advice

Comment

Re: newbie (straight out of the box) how can I move files using graphical interf