This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

sound prob on Fujitsu Siemens Amilo 1451G with UBUNTU 7.10

Hi Let me begin by saying that I am a newbie.
    I started out in UBUNTU (Gutsy) and experienced sound problems
    1) sound only when headphones were plugged in
    2) reinstalled Ubuntu 7.10 and now no sound whatsoever and the sound icon barred. clicking on it gives me:
    The volume control did not find any elements and/or devices to control. This means either that you don't have the right GStreamer plugins installed, or that you don't have a sound card configured.
    3)went into the synaptic packg mgr and down loaded all the gstream plugins...in fact anything that said gstream.
    The sound card is Realtek ALC880
    4) Added everything for the alsa driver and with: /etc/init.d/alssound restart ...I got:
    Shutting down sound driver: /usr/sbin/alsactl: save_state:1251: No soundcards found...
    ERROR: Removing 'snd_pcm_oss': Operation not permitted
    ERROR: Module snd_mixer_oss is in use by snd_pcm_oss
    ERROR: Module snd_pcm is in use by snd_pcm_oss
    ERROR: Removing 'snd_seq_dummy': Operation not permitted
    ERROR: Removing 'snd_seq_oss': Operation not permitted
    ERROR: Removing 'snd_seq_midi': Operation not permitted
    ERROR: Module snd_rawmidi is in use by snd_seq_midi
    ERROR: Module snd_seq_midi_event is in use by snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi
    ERROR: Module snd_seq is in use by snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_mid i_event
    ERROR: Module snd_timer is in use by snd_pcm,snd_seq
    ERROR: Module snd_seq_device is in use by snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi ,snd_seq
    ERROR: Module snd is in use by snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_seq_dummy,sn d_seq_oss,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_de vice
    done
    ALSA driver is already running.
    3) installed Kubuntu in order to take advantage of KDE that seems to work better
    than Gnome...(consensus overheard)