X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[LAPTOP] Mutiple monitors + several panels + switch monitors

Hello all!

I'm a long time KDE user (since 2001) and I currently use a Acer laptop with Kubuntu 14.04 ( KDE 4.13.3). Dut to my routine, I end up using three different monitor setups:

A) At home I have a single external monitor;
    B) At work (local college) I use the laptop screen, sometimes with a projector for my lectures;
    C) At the university I'm doing my Master's I have two external monitors ( Intel Haswell works fine with THREE :-D screens ).

Everything works almost perfectly, but I'd like to have separate taskbars for each monitor. I *KNOW* how to do it, add a new empty panel for the non-primary monitors and add a taskbar to each panel. Setup the taskbars to show only the apps for each screen. This works fine.

What doesn't work fine is that every time I switch the monitor configuration (home -> work -> lab -> work...) the config gets destroyed. If I set up the three screens ( laptop + two external ), then get home and plug a single monitor, one of the extra panels gets in front of the others. And if I go from three screen to just one, I get two extra panels in front of the default panel.

Is there a way to save the panel settings for each screen setup I have ? Maybe using an activity ? I can code, so if I could switch the current KDE activity with a script based on what is plugged in, that would be fine.

Thanks a lot!!

Hmmm, I don't know if Activities will do it. Have you considered three log ins? Sounds ungainly at first, but with correct permissions and folder sharing where needed I think it might work.

Like: Have home, work, student as three users. Give them all the same primary group - leonard, make sure all your permissions allow group access to everything, link your Documents, Downloads, email, etc. folders to a single location. You could even have different .xprofiles to correctly set up your monitors if that's needed.

Please Read Me